Back to top

Award Levels

The LANL Foundation has a variety of scholarships that range from $1,000 for a single year up to $20,000 over four years for students pursuing degrees in any field of study.  The number and value of scholarships awarded each year is determined by funds available. 

Multi-Year/Renewable Scholarships:

  • Gold: $5,000 per year for four years
    • Preference for the highest award is given to students pursuing degrees in science, technology, engineering and math,  or other career fields that respond to local needs
  • Silver: $3,750 per year for four years
  • Copper: $2,500 per year for four years
  • Bronze: $1,500 per year for up to four years
    • Silver, Copper and Bronze scholarships awarded to students pursuing any field of study
  • Sheila Morris Luna Memorial Scholarship Fund: $5000 per year for up to four years
    • One award for a female student with financial need pursuing a STEM degree
  • John & Marti Browne Endowed Leadership Scholarship: $2,500 per year for up to four years
    • Awarded to students with demonstrated leadership skills and financial need
  • Senator Pete Domenici Endowed Scholarship: $2,500 per year for four years
    • One award for a student from each of the seven Northern New Mexico counties
  • Susan Herrera Endowed Scholarship: $2,500 per year for up to four years
    • One award for a student who has overcome personal obstacles to reach academic achievement
  • Bryan Fearey & Maureen Connolly Endowed Scholarship for Science and the Arts: $2500 per year for up to four years
    • One award for a student with dedication to the arts who is pursuing a degree in chemistry
  • Don & Connie Cobb Endowed Education Scholarship: $1,500 renewable for up to 4 years 
    • One award for a student person a degree in teaching, with an emphasis on elementary eduation
  • Nancy and Jeffrey Sauer Endowed Scholarship: $1,500 renewable for up to 4 years
    • One award for a student pursuing a degree in physical or environmental science

One-Time Awards:

Several named/memorial scholarships have been established by individuals and organizations. Each is for one year only and may be awarded as a stand-alone scholarship or as an add-on to a multi-year award.

  • Alan Johnston Memorial Scholarship: $1,000 (business-related fields)
  • Bret Knapp Memorial Scholarship: $1000 (mechanical engineering and student athlete) 
  • NNM American Society of Mechanical Engineers Scholarship: $1,000 (mechanical or other engineering fields)
  • NNM Tribal Business Scholarship: $1,500 (Native American students from Northern New Mexico who are pursuing undergraduate degrees in business-related fields)
  • Rae Lee Siporin Scholarship: $1,000 (2 awards: female first-generation college student & female Native American)
  • Tim Martin Memorial Scholarship: $1,000 (multiple awards for Mesa Vista High School graduates)
  • William & Gertrude Fradkin Memorial Scholarship: $1,000 (high moral character & financial need)
  • Raymond M. Chavez Memorial Scholarship: $2,500 (Chimayó/Española Valley resident with exceptional community service)
  • Climate Change Leadership Institute Endowed Scholarship: $1,000 (earth & environmental sciences)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Scholarship: $1,000 for one year (electrical or other engineering fields, high financial need)
  • LANL Workforce Retirees’ Endowed Scholarship: $1,000 for one year (high academic achievement & financial need, preference for STEM degrees)
  • Marvin Martin Mueller Endowed Memorial Scholarship: $1,000 for one year (employees and family members of Los Alamos County Police Department)

Donate to Scholarships

Looking to Create a New Scholarship?

To set up a new, custom scholarship fund, honor a loved one, or discuss a planned gift to the LANL Foundation, contact Tony Fox, Vice President of Institutional Advancement & Scholarships at 505-753-8890 ext. 116 or email

Find Out About Planned Giving