Back to top

Scholarship Partners

Los Alamos National Laboratory

The Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Fund began as a partnership between the LANL Foundation, Los Alamos National Laboratory, and a few key employees who sought a way to give back to the communities in the surrounding area of Northern New Mexico.

One main goal has always been to provide incentive and encouragement for higher learning that would build an educated, skilled local workforce for the Lab and other business and industry.

Since the program began in 1998, the Laboratory workforce has donated $5 million. The Lab’s Community Partnerships and Communications & Public Affairs offices play an active role in fundraising during the annual giving campaign.

Many individuals from various Lab divisions and groups, with support from the Director’s office, hire scholarship winners as paid summer interns for valuable experience and mentorship. Some scholars pursue full-time careers at the Lab, the largest employer in Northern New Mexico.

Scholarship Advisory Committee

LAESF is governed by an Advisory Committee composed of donors who are Laboratory and contract employees and retirees selected by other donors.

The committee meets monthly to carry out the goals and objectives of the fund and works year round to ensure a quality scholarship program.

Members conduct the difficult and rigorous process to determine which of the hundreds of student applicants will receive awards. They also conduct outreach at all high schools in the seven counties of Northern New Mexico to inform students of scholarship opportunities.

2018-2019 LAESF Advisory Committee Members

  • Mike Ammerman
  • Felicia Archuleta-Toya
  • Audrey Archuleta
  • Julie Bremser
  • Cassandra Casperson
  • Eli Ben-Naim
  • Lynne Clarkson
  • David Cremer
  • Paul Dunn
  • Crystal Espinoza
  • Bryan Fearey
  • Connie Figley
  • Tony Fox
  • Joanna Gillespie
  • Felice Gurule
  • Prabhu Khalsa
  • Leon Lopez
  • Briana Lucero
  • Andrea Martinez
  • Rebecca Martinez
  • Jerri McTaggart
  • Frederic Montoya
  • Andrea Pistone
  • Tania Sanchez
  • Raeanna Sharp-Geiger
  • Zulma Soto Hodges
  • Sadonna Tapia
  • Daniel Trugman
  • Enrique Torres
  • Tina Varela
  • Andrew Wolfsberg

We also thank all of the LAESF Advisory Committee members who served in the past.